If you are hurt in a car crash and don’t have health insurance, your injuries are more than an inconvenience. They could be a source of financial devastation. Understanding your rights under Florida law and how Florida’s car insurance works can go a long way toward protecting you.
Fault or liability plays a role in some insurance claims after a crash. If the other driver hit your vehicle because they ran a red light, their insurance policy will pay for the damage to your vehicle. However, it is the Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance that you carry on your vehicle that will reimburse you for any injuries that you or your passengers suffer, regardless of fault.
Understanding PIP insurance in Florida
When you are injured in a car accident, you will likely go see your doctor. You may go directly to the hospital if the injury is severe enough. Your car insurance policy will be the one that pays, even if you have health insurance. Claims made to your health insurance after a crash will likely wind up paid by your automotive policy later anyway through subrogation. Your health insurance provider knows you have PIP coverage and will expect you to use it.
The state requires $10,000 of PIP coverage for individual drivers, although you may carry more than that. Your automobile policy will cover 80% of necessary medical expenses, up to the maximum allowable benefit of $10,000. Your PIP may be the only protection you have to cover your costs when you are hurt in a car crash, especially if you don’t have health insurance.
Getting help negotiating a claim or filing a personal injury lawsuit if insurance isn’t enough to protect you can make it easier for you to get the compensation you need after a crash.